Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.95 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Join Netrition on Facebook! Join us on Facebook!


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Monin
Sugar Free Syrup

 
Write an online review for
Sugar Free Syrup (Monin)

38 Reviews
Average rating
(32)
(0)
(4)
(0)
(2)

Customer Reviews  

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful.
August 27, 2007
Reviewer: Stephanie in Canada
Best Berry Flavoured syrup I have tried! Can't believe how good it is! NO weird aftertaste. It's very smooth and smells lovely!! It's a little bit thicker than DaVinci Blue Berry Syrup. Definitely 5 stars!!
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Blackberry (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.
February 26, 2012
Reviewer: Joseph in Oregon
Almost all of these are positively delicious and do not taste AT ALL sugar free. The Chocolate is no better than any other brand, but Vanilla, Irish Cream and Caramel are amazingly good. Well worth the $2 difference. Note that some of them have lemon juice or citric acid for tartness, that will curdle half-n-half, so read labels if you're planning italian sodas. Strawberry seems to work fine.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
March 06, 2011
Reviewer: Stephanie in Maryland
The white chocolate is wonderful. I add it to a little almond milk and a dash of cream, then heat it up in the microwave, and I have an indulgent white hot chocolate.
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, White Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
November 10, 2009
Reviewer: A customer in Washington
I love Monin! I wish they had more flavors - apple, specifically. Their Blackberry is very nice, I use it in my morning hot cereal (1 beaten egg, 3/8 C flax meal, 1/4 C almond meal and 1/4 C Blackberry syrup - all mixed together), then I throw on top 4 or 5 frozen strawberries and microwave for 3 minutes, I only cook it about 75% through, else it won't be mushy like oatmeal. I break it up with a spoon, drizzle it with cream to taste, then sprinkle it with 1 packet of sweetener (I use Truvia because I like the granules, tastes and feels like real sugar on top.) Tastes just like flavored oatmeal - and it fills me up all morning. I tried it with Banana flavor of the other brand, but not as good. Also, I LOVE the SF Monin Caramel - I make a killer flan with it, where I don't miss out on the "caramelized sugar" flavor at all. Love this stuff - I'm stocking up for the winter.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
October 26, 2007
Reviewer: Janet in Maryland
I know I already reviewed the Blackberry Syrup, but I had to add one thing - Caramel!!! Caramel!!! Caramel!!! This is amazing. Even my husband, who hates all syrups with sugar substitutes, loves this. I've used this in protein shakes, on ice cream, and over flax cereal and it is wonderful. Thank you, Netrition, for carrying Monin syrups. If there are more flavors available, please, please, please carry them.
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Caramel (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
October 24, 2007
Reviewer: Wanda in Florida
Wonderful stuff! You just won't believe how good it is.
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Blackberry (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
September 22, 2007
Reviewer: rosemary in California
Great berry aroma. Wonderful berry flavor. Will definitely be buying more. We tried with a little cottage cheese. It had a fresh crushed berry flavor. Can't wait to try a little on pancakes.
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Blackberry (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 28, 2013
Reviewer: Mary in California
I have tried several flavors and this is the best tasting sugar free syrups (overall brand) that I have tried. It's thicker since it's made with erythitol vs splenda (other brands I have tried are sweetened with splenda) which makes it more "syrup-y".
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 26, 2013
Reviewer: Karen in Michigan
So far I've tried the Blackberry and Chocolate. I love both of them, but the Blackberry is amazing. They are slightly thicker than Davinci, which I like. Both are great in mug muffins/cakes. I will definitely be trying the other flavors and can't wait to try them in other recipes.
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Blackberry (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 10, 2013
Reviewer: Barbara L in Virginia
I have tried this and I am hooked. This syrup is delicious. Last night I made snow cones in my Ninja with the Caramel syrup. Wow! I highly recommend this. I have tried other brands of vanilla and have not been impressed. This is wonderful and the price can't be beat.
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Caramel (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 12, 2012
Reviewer: Deanna in Connecticut
I love the mango sugar free syrup by monin. It has the perfect mango flavor. It works well in protein shakes, over yogurt, etc or even just a shake over a salad to give the impression of having the fruit in there (feta and chicken maybe with some almond slices over baby greens, yumm).
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Mango (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 11, 2011
Reviewer: Roxanne in Florida
I'm a huge fan of Monin syrups. I've tried the Sugar Free Pomegranate, Blackberry, Raspberry, White Chocolate, Chocolate, etc. Love them all, but in my opinion, the Blackberry and White Chocolate are exceptional. I like these much better than the other syrup brands because Monin has great flavor and tends to be thicker in consistency than the others, which I find works really well for food applications (as opposed to drink). I add the Monin syrup to plain Greek yogurt w/ a little Splenda and it's wonderful.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 25, 2011
Reviewer: Janet G in Texas
Other than the blackberry (I am in the camp that thinks it tastes like perfume/soapy), I LOVE Monin SF syrups! My favorites are raspberry, almond, chocolate, amaretto, triple sec, french vanilla, pomegranate, & caramel. When I ate cereal every morning, I used SF almond in the milk! Also make snowballs with them and top with a bit of cream. YUM! I like the fact that Monin offers some flavors with no artificial colors or flavors (but you have to read the ingredients for each one, as some do have these.), or less desirable preservatives.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 26, 2011
Reviewer: Birgit in Arizona
LOVE the blackberry and the Pomegranate syrups! In fact a mix of the two is a wonderful combo! I've consumed my fair share of sugar-free syrups over the years, and they are by FAR the best. They are thicker and act like "real" syrup, they have a really full flavor with just enough of a "sour" note to make them realistic (I hate fruity flavors that are flat because they're missing the citrus notes you would naturally get) They also seem to go a lot further as their flavor profile is so much richer and the syrup is truly as sweet as real sugar syrup.

They have been a hit with all the family, especially the kids on snow cones, as the syrups act like the real thing - some trickles down into the snow cone, some stays sitting on top a little! Unlike the other two major SF syrups, which just trickle down into the bottom of the cup.

I have ordered 5 more flavors and can't wait to try them!

This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Pomegranate (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 14, 2011
Reviewer: Rebecca in New Jersey
This was thicker than other brands of sugar free syrup, with a fresh, clean strawberry taste and aroma. I poured this straight on Carb Quik pancakes and it was superb. I also bought the peach flavor, which was not as thick and not quite as yummy as the strawberry, but still good! I look forward to trying more flavors, and I will definitely buy the strawberry again.
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Strawberry
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 11, 2011
Reviewer: Gerri in Virginia
Monin SF are the best! I purchased Blackberry & Chocolate & both are fantastic. Far superior. The flavors are rich & real, no funky after taste & thicker than others, which tastes like flavored water. Eager to try their other flavors with my next order. Hope Monin expands its SF offerings.
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 21, 2010
Reviewer: Angela in Texas
I have only tried the vanilla syrup so far, but I am back for more and ready to try new flavors. I really like this syrup. I use it in my coffee everyday, I've used it in lots of recipes. Great product, worth the little extra money in my opinion.
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Vanilla (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 14, 2009
Reviewer: Dorothy in Massachusetts
I loved the Chocolate syrup! I'm so disappointed that Morin has discontinued making it!!! I will try another brand; however, the Monin one was great. I will also try Monin in another flavor.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 07, 2009
Reviewer: Alice in Arkansas
I have tried the Vanilla and the Blackberry. These are the best sugar free syrups on the market in my opinion. They have true flavors without an after taste and have a nice thick consistency. I have used them in coffee & tea, to make shaved ice, to flavor milk & shakes, and in sparkling water to make Italian soda. These are delicious.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 06, 2009
Reviewer: Susan K in Iowa
I tried the Walden Farms Sugar Free syrups and they are thicker but do not have the realistic flavor of Monin O'Free Sugar Free Syrup. I love the raspberry and am going to try the blackberry this time.
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Raspberry (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 08, 2009
Reviewer: Loretta in Oregon
These are EXCELLENT syrups!!! I have tried the chocolate and the raspberry so far, and plan to get them all. Wow! They are slightly thicker than DaVinci, and taste clean and rich, no aftertaste. I love to make Italian Soda's with them: fill a 16 oz cup about 3/4 full of ice...cover ice with seltzer water...stir in about 2 Tablespoons of cream and about 4 Tablespoons (or to taste) of syrup...I made a chocolate cream soda this way, and a raspberry cream soda. Both are delicious!! The O'Free syrups are more expensive, but the bottle is slightly larger than DaVinci...I got mine when Netrition had them on sale, and was glad I tried them. :-)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 03, 2009
Reviewer: Darlene in Virginia
The moment I opened the bottle of blackberry syrup and took a whiff of it, I knew it was a winner. Wow! It tastes exactly like blackberries! I've mixed it with whole chia seeds to make a very believable low carb "Blackberries and Cream" recipe (among others) for my website. I love this syrup and have many recipe ideas for it!
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Blackberry (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 29, 2009
Reviewer: Lisa in North Carolina
Hands down, by far, these are the best sugar-free syrups that I have tried to date. I've had the Caramel, Hazelnut, and Chocolate, all of which were very good. I have a pretty tolerable palette to most sugar free products; however, I had purchased 4 different flavors of the DaVinci syrups and had to trash everyone of them. O'Free did not have the "chemical smell" or weird aftertaste that I have found with all others...especially the chocolate. I've even tried Hershey's sugar-free syrup which is extremely tangy, almost sour to the taste. O'Free is sweet and smooth and actually tastes like chocolate. These syrups are also thicker than any others that I have tried so far. For me, another great thing about these syrups is that they do not cause all of the gastric distress that I have found that most others cause...and that is a HUGE plus for my extremely sensitive system. I've used them in my morning coffee, hot chocolate, iced coffees, and the caramel is delicious over oatmeal. I'm ordering some of these for the 3rd time today. I would highly recommend this product!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 19, 2009
Reviewer: Kenneth in New York
The Blackberry is fantastic, very tasty. I will definitely buy this again - absolutely fantastic for making blackberry sodas using plain no-sodium seltzer. I like this better than the DaVinci syrups because there is no artificial food coloring!!! DaVinci syrup is pretty good, but a lot of their syrups are artificially colored, which really bothers me! There is no need to use artificial food coloring, there are better alternatives!

Monin Caramel flavor is very good too. I just ordered the Monin O'Free Raspberry, I can't wait to try it. I'll be ordering the Vanilla in the future. If Netrition would carry even more flavors, I would probably try them all. Try the Blackberry! It's the best sugar free syrup I've had yet, from any manufacturer.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 17, 2008
Reviewer: David in Colorado
Vanilla is awesome.
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Vanilla (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 21, 2008
Reviewer: A customer in Missouri
I love this! It has a great vanilla flavor and is sweeter than other SF syrups without the aftertaste.
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Vanilla (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 06, 2008
Reviewer: Cindy in Kansas
OMG, the caramel!! I love this stuff. Pour it over oatmeal, over hot Flax Z Snax, mixed with hot Almond Breeze for a hot carmel drink. Can't use it enough!!
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Caramel (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 14, 2007
Reviewer: Georgiann in Texas
I've bought Caramel, Vanilla, Raspberry, Chocolate, Peach, Strawberry, White Chocolate and Blackberry, but the one I'm enjoying the most for now is Caramel. It's delicious, and I pour it over plain yogurt for a real treat. Believe the rave reviews, these syrups are wonderful, with a thicker, more syrupy texture, a clean, sweet flavor and no weird aftertaste. I just wish Monin would get on the ball and develop more O'Free syrups to match their many sugared ones.
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Caramel (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 08, 2007
Reviewer: Tiffany in New York
I love the Monin syrups! I requested that Netrition carry them and ever since they got them in I have been thrilled! The blackberry is unbelievable. I have wanted a good blackberry syrup since Davinci doesn't make it and after trying the blackberry I had to try the others. I have tried all the flavors so far and I think they are great. The raspberry is sublime, their strawberry can top a sundae, their hazelnut makes an incredible hazelnut latte and it goes on.

The syrup is thicker than the Davinci, probably since they use a little erythritol. I find that the flavor also tastes much better and cleaner. I only wish they offered a larger sugar free flavor selection.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 05, 2007
Reviewer: Stephanie in Maryland
I feel disloyal in writing this, but these are better than Davinci's syrups by far. The erythritol makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 30, 2007
Reviewer: Diana in Iowa
This is the best syrup by far. The chocolate is to die for. The syrup is a lot thicker than any other brand and leaves you feeling satisfied without calories. Other Sugar Free Coffee Syrups are good however Monin is the only one I can find has the true chocolate flavor. I recommend vanilla and chocolate the most.
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 26, 2007
Reviewer: Janet in Maryland
This syrup is the most natural tasting blackberry syrup I have ever tasted. No funny aftertaste and no alcohol smell & taste. I've tried all the sugar-free syrups and Monin beats them all. I tried this first with Fage yogurt. It tasted like I had added a puree of real blackberries. I also made ice cream with it and was delighted with the result. I would highly recommend this!
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Blackberry (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 15, 2012
Reviewer: Susan in Virginia
I gave the chocolate flavoring 3 stars only because once you get past the smell, the taste isn't so bad. Don't know if I got something different than other reviewers, but the smell of what I got is truly awful! Very strong chemical smell. It's really hard to get past that. Other flavors I've tried have had pleasant smells and taste fine. Do like that overall Monin is thicker than the other brand. Personally, I won't be buying this flavor again.
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 06, 2011
Reviewer: A customer in Missouri
I ordered the Monin Sugar-free Blackberry syrup. It was OK, but had somewhat of a "cigar" taste about it. I will be trying other flavors. I probably won't buy that flavor again unless I try it in a different brand. I have 2 more flavors on the way so we will see what those are like.
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Blackberry (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 06, 2011
Reviewer: Stephanie in Maryland
I generally love the Monin' syrups, but the raspberry keeps breaking down in the bottle. This has happened to me twice. It never happens with the vanilla or the white chocolate, so I have to think it's something acidic in the fruity flavors.
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Raspberry (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 27, 2010
Reviewer: Andrea in California
I really love the Monin O'Free blackberry and raspberry syrups, so I am sorry to say that the Hazelnut falls short. There simply isn't enough Hazelnut flavor relative to the sweetness - using enough to really taste the hazelnut results in over sweetening. Perhaps they could try a toasted hazelnut with a more intense flavor?
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Hazelnut (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
February 28, 2011
Reviewer: Jeanne in Georgia
I totally agree with the person from Maine who described the Blackberry syrup as having a "soapy" taste. When I opened the bottle and tasted a small spoonful I immediately smelled & tasted "soapy" and then "perfumy" (just like dish soap!) And then, there is a faint background "berry" taste.

Oddly enough, this bottle of syrup had a foamy head - about 2 inches - in the bottle before I opened it and when I mixed some in water there is a thin head of foam in my glass even after sitting for 15 minutes.

Is this normal or did the company not completely rinse their vats after washing and there is, indeed, some soap in this batch?

My batch# for those interested: FS006 10840 EXP 04/12

Otherwise, I'm really enjoying my bottle of Monin O'Free Vanilla (with my addition of more vanilla extract) and would recommend that with a 5-star.

Thankfully Monin doesn't use Benzoate of Soda which is one of the worst preservatives for our health.

This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Blackberry (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 19, 2008
Reviewer: A customer in Maine
I was disappointed; found the blackberry flavor to have a "soapy" taste and aftertaste; this was less noticeable when mixed with yogurt, but obvious when used as a sweetener in drinks. I have not tried the other flavors. I prefer the Da Vinci syrups.
This review is specific to Sugar Free Syrup, Blackberry (plastic)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.95 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement