• 3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
    5/5 January 28, 2007
    Reviewer: Leslie in Illinois
    This is really interesting stuff. Though you don't knead it, it does use yeast so it's not like a quick-bread. The loaf winds up looking and tasting somewhat like white bread but is very dense and chewy -- more like a heavy, wholegrain bread such as a pure dark rye, for instance. I really liked the flavor and the chewiness appeals to me. I think it would make great sandwich rolls if I can figure a way to mold them since the bread doesn't really rise -- it actually sank flat into the pan. Frankly, I'm not sure the sponginess had anything to do with the yeast -- I think perhaps the holes were made by the curds of the cottage cheese (which seems kind of clever, actually). I'm planning to try adding some different flavors to the bread such as herbs or parmesan cheese since it seems like it'd be a good vehicle for such additions.

    Most low carb bread mixes I've tried have had off-flavors, were dry and tough, etc. This was quite tasty and easy to make. It's not like normal bread but if you're low-carbing and have been looking for an alternative, this is worth a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1/5 May 22, 2007
    Reviewer: Catherine in Nevada
    I don't know if I found this product to be downright horrible, or if it's because I don't like cottage cheese (which you have to add to the bread mix). This was easy to make, but the taste was so bad that I ate one piece and threw the rest away. There are so many other lo-carb products from this site that are so much better, it wasn't worth the agony. The Twist chocolate-hazelnut spread I put on top of the bread, however, was very tasty (Item #125-0001). I don't recommend trying this bread mix. The net carbs is deceiving as well because it doesn't account for the eggs and cottage cheese that must be added to make the bread mix.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 March 11, 2008
    Reviewer: Charlene in Mississippi
    Ummmm! This bread is delicious if one has to eat low-carb food. It is so much better than any other bread product I have tried. It's so good that I purchased a Cusiniart bread maker, the only one on the market programmed for low carb baking. I've made two loaves on "baking day" so that I could freeze one and pull it out later. The frozen loaf was as good--in fact better--because it sliced so easily after thawing. This bread is a cross between regular bread and cornbread. Eat it buttered or use it as sandwich bread. For breakfast it is delicious after warming to melt butter and topped with any kind of DaVinci syrup. That for a breakfast meal makes a low carber feel part of the real world! A+
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 5/5 January 29, 2008
    Reviewer: Debra in Michigan
    Very good, a nice change of pace from the chicken and eggs! Nice texture. Crunchy outside and tender inside when slicing hot out of the oven.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 15, 2009
    Reviewer: Denise in Oregon
    This makes a yeasty sort of quick bread. A little flat, but very good toasted.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 3/5 November 12, 2007
    Reviewer: A customer in California
    It's not bad, just don't like the texture the cottage cheese adds. I only buy this at holiday time, I bake it, dry it out and turn it into stuffing.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2/5 June 09, 2013
    Reviewer: cissy in Pennsylvania
    Did not like taste or texture of this bread, it is edible but I won't buy again.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 February 25, 2013
    Reviewer: Shelby in Kentucky
    did not like this product at all; no taste; tough (I followed all the directions) would not buy it again
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 January 11, 2012
    Reviewer: Jessica in Pennsylvania
    This was simple to make but sadly the bread just wasn't to my taste. It was spongey and eggy with an odd aftertaste. It just isn't worth the $10 per loaf that this costs after eggs and cottage cheeses are added for me.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 April 22, 2010
    Reviewer: dorrit in Washington
    OK I admit I keep searching for bread on a low carb diet, (silly me) and once again I've been burned. Do they even taste this stuff, it is spongy and the after taste! even 1/2 inch of butter & beanit butter couldn't disquise. I tried to toast it, took me at least three tries to get it to even toast. I followed all the directions and it even faintly smelled like bread when it was baking but that is where the similarities end. Oh well another one bites the waste can.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1/5 September 24, 2009
    Reviewer: STEPH in Montana
    TERRIBLE, could not eat. Don't waste your money on this product.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2015 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.