Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.99 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients
• Recall Notices

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Join Netrition on Facebook! Join us on Facebook!


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Dixie USA
Carb Counters Instant Mashers  Buy Carb Counters Instant Mashers

Write an online review for
Carb Counters Instant Mashers (Dixie USA)

140 Reviews
Average rating
(82)
(21)
(4)
(4)
(29)

Customer Reviews  

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful.
September 28, 2006
Reviewer: Paula in North Carolina
I am a regular Netrition customer and have been 100% satisfied with all the low carb foods I have purchased with the exception of this product. These Instant Mashers are the worst low carb food I have ever tasted. Just the smell while preparing is enough to make you loose your appetite. They smell and taste like joint compound. Not a hint of sour creme and chive flavor. Save your money for the hundreds of other delicious low carb options available.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Sour Cream & Chive
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
December 08, 2006
Reviewer: edwin in New York
Ok... I am one of those people that has an iron stomach and can basically eat anything (i love food). I was very disappointed in the carb mashers. The taste was awful, very powdery tasting... Cheese mixed in couldnt mask the taste. I agree with another reviewer, stick to cauliflower and buy other great tasting stuff on the site.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
November 03, 2006
Reviewer: Amy in Minnesota
This was the worst tasting product. We ate 2 bites and that was about it - you are better off eating cauliflower mock mashed potatoes.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Sour Cream & Chive
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
September 29, 2006
Reviewer: A customer in Iowa
These are absolutely awful and a waste of money.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
February 01, 2013
Reviewer: Katie in North Carolina
I was really hopeful these would be a nice substitute for instant taters. I knew going in that it would not taste the same as the real stuff, but I was so terribly disappointed that it wasn't even edible. Maybe I followed the instructions wrong? I got the cheddar and bacon flavored kind and you could taste that...it was 'good', but the texture was like flour. It tasted to me like I was eating flavored flour mixed with liquid. I ended up throwing away everything. I will not try these again. I'm completely turned off.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Cheddar and Bacon
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
October 09, 2012
Reviewer: A customer in Texas
I have NO idea what everyone else is doing to their mashers, but mine tasted like fake, gross mashed plastic-y cotton. It was digusting. I would much rather puree some cauliflower. Yuck!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
June 02, 2010
Reviewer: Susan in Texas
I have liked most of the low carb products I have tried, but to be honest, these were disgusting. I made one pouch, tried adding a ton of butter, even sour cream. The consistency actually turned my stomach. I agree with other reviewers that it had the smell and consistency of paste. Glad I only bought one package to try.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
August 07, 2008
Reviewer: Lisa in New Mexico
Absolutely horrible!!! Extremely salty, smelt and tasted like paste. Never again!!!! Eeek - I still can't get that taste or smell out of my mind.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
July 04, 2008
Reviewer: Sue in Arkansas
One word..........YUCK!!! I was really looking forward to these as a side dish. I am NOT a picky eater by any means. Usually I will go ahead and eat something. These were horrible! They were grainy in texture and the flavor was really bad! I threw them out and didn't even eat the helping on my plate (and I am NOT one to waste food!). I made them as directed on the stove top. I did not add any additional ingredients other than what was called for. I am not sure what potatoes the other reviewers ate, but I don't think they could have been these!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
January 14, 2007
Reviewer: David in New Jersey
We've been low carbing for 4 years. We have tried hundreds of LC products, and this one ranks near the bottom. Though edible, it had the texture and taste of wallpaper paste. If you’re looking for a mashed potato substitute, my advice would be to stick with mashed cauliflower.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 05, 2014
Reviewer: John in Minnesota
Terrible. These are very expensive and I can best describe them as flour and water gravy with sand in it. I would rather go without potatoes or cheat once in a while rather than use this. Too bad I was stupid and ordered a bunch of them all at once. Maybe I can add them to the Carbquick and patch my driveway.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 07, 2014
Reviewer: Dale in South Dakota
These are awful, I ordered them to eat with a roast from the crock pot because i was tired of cauliflower mashed. The cauliflower is a dream compared to these. They are quick and easy to make but that's all the good I can say about them.There is an overwhelming salty taste (nothing resembling garlic) to these and I couldn't finish them even after they were drenched in gravy. I don't recommend them, buyer beware.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 18, 2013
Reviewer: Deirdre in Massachusetts
I ordered these with the highest of hopes, I have really liked the other Dixie Diner products. These were horrible! I wondered if I got a bad batch, they were pumpkin colored, grainy, and tasted terrible. I got 2 bites in, and gave up!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 06, 2013
Reviewer: CHRISTINE in Illinois
I really really wanted to like this since I am a major mashed potatoes lover, but I have to be honest. It was gross! It was so dry and tasted awful. I ended up adding instant potato flakes which I didnt want to do since the reason I bought this was to get that "real" potato taste.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 13, 2012
Reviewer: Tanya in Colorado
Nasty. Could not even finish one serving of the classic flavor.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 01, 2012
Reviewer: Raquel in Ohio
Disapointed. I ordered this product hoping I could use it for my thanksgiving dinner. Good thing I tried it before I did, I didn't find it to taste like mashed potatoes at all. It taste more like mashed turnips or califlower. Which I do like, but rather have them fresh. The texture is also weird.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 11, 2010
Reviewer: Kendra in Arkansas
I only tried the parmesan garlic ones, and I ordered several packs because of all the rave reviews. I have tried everything to make them better. The disgusting flavor or the potatoes overpowers whatever or however much you put on them. I eat anything. I wasn't allowed to be picky as a child. These are the most disgusting thing I have tasted to date on low carb. I could get by with whatever consistency and texture they had, but the taste will keep these out of my pantry forever! I threw away my last two packets. Me and my partner have tried them several times. Highly unrecommended!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Garlicky Parmesan
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 11, 2010
Reviewer: Dwayne E. in Tennessee
I have been pleased with the other Dixie Diner products I've tried so far and had high hopes for this one. However I have to say I can simply do without potatoes easier than I can stomach these. And I have no sense of smell from birth so my taste is not as strong as that of most people. These have a gritty texture that gives the impression of what it is like to eat ground up chalk. My wife agreed on this and she can smell. We each ate about 3 small bites and threw the rest out. I'm amazed at the good reviews and sympathize with the bad ones. We won't be cooking the second of the 2 pouches.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 28, 2010
Reviewer: Lindsey in Florida
I don't understand all the rave reviews, these tasted terrible to me! The texture was pasty and thin at the same time. The taste was horrible, I bought the classic and tried to save it by adding cheese, butter, and herbs but even that didn't help much. I only took a few bites and threw the rest out.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 09, 2009
Reviewer: kathleen in North Carolina
Sorry but it was terrible, It was extremely salty, and tasted nothing like mashed potato. I followed the instructions for the microwave. I'll stick to the mashed cauliflower,as an alternative, It is a better choice for me.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 17, 2009
Reviewer: Randy in New York
I thought these instant mashers tasted like sawdust. What I miss most on this low carb diet is potatoes. This product doesn't even resemble them. We buy many low carb products and most are as good as their high carb counterparts, but this is not one of them.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 21, 2008
Reviewer: Joan in California
I am sorry to disagree, but I thought they were terrible. I only purchased them because of the great reviews, but I strongly disagree that they are good.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 04, 2008
Reviewer: Amber in Illinois
Oh, I was so disappointed! The taste is horrible. It has a cardboard/chemical after taste. URG!!! I wish I didn't buy 2 packs!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 10, 2008
Reviewer: karen in California
I was sooooo excited when I ordered these. The reviews sounded so good! But this was awful! It was worse than the very cheapest tv dinner mashed potatoes, plus the chive flavor was a sickly green color, maybe would be fun for St. Patty's day! Even covered in gravy, no one could eat them. Very disappointed!
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Sour Cream & Chive
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 02, 2008
Reviewer: Kenneth in Florida
After trying some of their low carb baking mixes I was looking forward to a pile of mashed potatoes. It was like there was a party in my mouth, and nobody wiped their feet. If you were the kid in school that ate paste, then you might like this nasty goo. I had not tried the flavored mashers but do not think I will risk it now.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 29, 2007
Reviewer: A customer in Idaho
So nasty I wanted to poke my eyes out! Too bad I purchased so many.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 26, 2007
Reviewer: Lois in Nevada
This product looks good. When I tasted them I had to spit the bite out...that is how awful they tasted to me. Just had a horrible texture and flavor to me.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 05, 2007
Reviewer: Lisa in Ohio
GROSS! I thought it tasted like paste. My husband can eat just about anything and he couldn't eat this stuff.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 04, 2007
Reviewer: Denise in Nebraska
I have to admit, these were pretty bad. I got the Classic flavor, figuring I could add my own seasonings. I tried chives, sour cream, parmesan, butter, salt and pepper. Nothing could make this product taste good. The texture was strange too. I definitely didn't feel like I was eating mashed potatoes and I'm sorry I wasted my money trying this one out, as it was pretty pricey for what you get.
This review is specific to Carb Counters Instant Mashers, Classic Flavor
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.99 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement