Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.95 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients
• Recall Notices

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Join Netrition on Facebook! Join us on Facebook!


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Dixie Diner
Smaps Cereal

 
Write an online review for
Smaps Cereal (Dixie Diner)

52 Reviews
Average rating
(30)
(8)
(5)
(3)
(6)

Customer Reviews  

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful.
December 09, 2006
Reviewer: Rebecca in Maryland
Amazing high protein, low carb cereal. It's very crunchy and tastes like sweet maple. We love it, it's a staple in our home!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.
November 14, 2008
Reviewer: Amber in Washington
This is my new favorite snack! I eat it every night with Almond Breeze milk and a splash of SF DaVinci pancake syrup. It looks like Rice Krispies, but has a taste and texture closer to lightly sweetened Cheerios. I am so glad I tried Smaps!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
August 25, 2013
Reviewer: Janice in Florida
I love this cereal...I eat it dry as a snack or with some almond milk...I buy it in the 8 pound sack at this point! Note to self: it does give you gas if you eat too much!
This review is specific to Smaps Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
August 02, 2013
Reviewer: Michael in Ohio
Excellent product. Best low carb cereal and pie crust, on the market.
This review is specific to Smaps Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
July 22, 2013
Reviewer: NORMAN in Texas
When I first got the package - i put two servings in a big bowl and put some lc milk and sweetener and the first couple of bites were great but as i kept chewing - yuck. It took me forever to eat.. I almost threw it away. The next day I tried it again but only using 1/2 cup serving and putting in much more lc milk and blueberries and sweetener and wow - it actually tasted much better. I am glad I did not throw it away. This is an acquired taste as it keeps tasting better and better each time I use it.
This review is specific to Smaps Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 25, 2013
Reviewer: Teresa in Texas
I like this cereal! It looks like Sugar Smacks but has the crunch of grape nuts. I add a little Splenda with some unsweetened Almond milk. I have been on a strict low-carb diet and miss grains and breads. This gives me the craving I want.
This review is specific to Smaps Cereal, Sweet Maple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 27, 2013
Reviewer: Alison in North Carolina
I can not say enough about these! They are so satisfying. I eat them every day- sometimes twice a day! No rise in blood sugar!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 12, 2012
Reviewer: Andrea C in New York
Snaps Cereal is not only gluten free - it's also low carb and delicious!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 08, 2012
Reviewer: Burma in North Carolina
These are great sprinkled on my home-made yogurt!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 05, 2011
Reviewer: Chris in Missouri
My husband LOVES this cereal and I also love to use it in recipes. I make some really good, low carb cookies using Tova's Carbquik Bake Mix and Smaps cereal (follow the recipe on the cereal package). They are low carb and great since my husband is diabetic. Using low carb products has helped bring my husband's diabetes under control. I use Splenda for the sweetener. In cooking/baking I use NO white flour. It has made a BIG difference in my husband's blood work. This cereal is also a great topping for my cereal too.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 03, 2011
Reviewer: A customer in North Carolina
This cereal is awesome! Eat it with Unsweetened Almond Milk and you are all set!! Thanks Dixie!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 06, 2011
Reviewer: Debra in Maryland
Yummy! I love this cereal. Being a self-proclaimed cereal addict, I am unable to go without cereal. When I went on the Ideal Protein diet I really missed real cereal. I thought I would give this a try and am so glad that I did. Sometimes I mix it with Hi-Life, but usually just eat it on it's own. I do eat it as a snack, without milk, and it fills me up. My usual afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 08, 2011
Reviewer: Gigi in Ohio
When I read the reviews for this product, I was a little worried that I wouldn't like it. However, I'm glad I took the risk. While Smaps are more expensive than other low carb cereals, they are by far the yummiest. I love that they give the traditional crunch of cereal that I was missing in other low carb cereals. Also, they have just the right amount of maple flavoring. I eat this with unsweetened almond milk for breakfast almost every morning. You can't beat the taste or the fact that it is truly LOW carb...only 2 net grams!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 08, 2011
Reviewer: Crofton in Canada
This is a great low carb breakfast. I add a couple tablespoons of plain yogurt and a few strawberries or raspberries and I'm good til lunch, on less than 10 grams of carbs.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 18, 2010
Reviewer: JEAN in Arizona
Yum! Crispy, crunchy - a real treat. I like to mix it in with the High Lo cereal for added crunch to them.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 02, 2010
Reviewer: Sheldon in Texas
Great Product. You will not be sorry if you order this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 10, 2010
Reviewer: A customer in Connecticut
I am a cereal killer and I really like this cereal. It is great that it is low in carbs, high in fiber and big on flavor. I typically do not like cereals that are too sweet and this one is just right for me. Also perfect when mixed with GG Scandinavian Bran flakes. Very Crunchy and filling. Although a little pricey I think that it is worth it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 23, 2010
Reviewer: Susan in California
I tried the Smaps sweet maple cereal for the first time a couple of weeks ago and now I just ordered two more boxes! I really loved the flavor and the texture was fine. The cereal maintained its crunch even when in milk and didn't become soggy. I used unsweetened vanilla flavored almond milk and along with the maple flavor it was a real taste treat. As a low carb dieter I haven't had any cereal in a long time and since the decrease of low carb dieters has led to difficulty finding low carb products I am especially grateful to have discovered the many products carried by Netrition. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 12, 2010
Reviewer: Linda in Texas
My taste buds have not outgrown the childhood "Krispies" cereals...but as an adult, I realized that traditional cereal just made me hungrier. Finally, with Smaps, I have found a product with that strange, crackling texture that is good for me and, surprise, is higher in protein per serving than any other cereal I've seen. It has not a bit of sweetness so I can sweeten it to suit my grown-up taste since I don't like sugar quite as much any more.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 03, 2010
Reviewer: Christine in New York
I was craving cereal and decided to try this. Was I pleasantly surprised! Not only is it very low in net carbs, but it's filling, satisfying and delicious. I used a blend of heavy cream and water to really keep the carb count low. Will definitely purchase this again!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 11, 2010
Reviewer: Morgan in Oregon
It's hard to find lower-carb cereal that isn't secretly harboring sugar or really high fat/calorie content. So I tried this, and ya know what it, it IS really crunchy. If it's raw, it's kinda hard...but with milk/liquid, it's great. And the most amazing thing happened: for regular cereal one bowl makes me want more and more and MORE, but with Smaps I was actually really satisfied.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 30, 2009
Reviewer: Garry in Michigan
Looks just like a famous 'Crispy Rice' cereal but with way more crisp! Stays crunchy in milk. Just the right amount of maple flavor - tastes great.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 20, 2009
Reviewer: Jennifer in Missouri
Great high fiber, high protein, low carb cereal replacement. It is a bit crunchy at first but if you let it sit in milk for a few minutes it softens up.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 26, 2009
Reviewer: Stephen in New Jersey
This is an excellent cereal and great for bodybuilding. I can eat this plain with Truvia on top or with a milk like unsweetened almond breeze or soyslender (I like soyslender better because of the protein). Even though this cereal is a little pricey, it's worth it for the health benefits. This cereal and hi-lo are my two favorites.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 09, 2009
Reviewer: Angela in North Carolina
This is the absolute best low carb cereal I have ever purchased. I keep a stock of it. No other cereal on the market compares to it, in my opinion when it comes to carb and calorie counts. The flavor is mild and it is just sweet enough. Very high in protein,this cereal sticks with you. It is good for those in OWL-Maintnance levels of Atkins. I enjoy it with unsweetened almond breeze milk.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 07, 2008
Reviewer: Mr. & Mrs. in Illinois
Smaps is my "Yummy Food." Sometimes it's really nice to have something (besides raw vegetables) that I can have and Eat All I Want of It. I like the high protein and low carb of Smaps. I add water, Stevia, and Erythritol to it, & sometimes I also add one of the SweetLeaf Liquid Stevia flavors (the English Toffee they make is a great flavor). The Smaps cereal, Stevia, Erythritol, and SweetLeaf Liquid Stevia flavors are all here at Netrition, so it's easy to put them all on one order. With Smaps, for me, there's None of those tummy problems like so many soy products cause. (I cannot eat Nutlettes cereal at all because Nutlettes disagrees with my tummy even though both Smaps and Nutlettes cereals are made by Dixie Diner.) So far, I've liked most of the things Dixie Diner makes. Somehow, I just seem to not ever get tired of Smaps. Smaps is easy to store in the pantry, and it still is good even after a long time.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 17, 2008
Reviewer: ashley in California
This stuff is great, Rice Krispies only better--stays crisp and crunchy in (low-carb Hood's) milk, has a hint of maple sweetness but doesn't mask the taste of your berries--also good alone. I've been living the low carb lifestyle for a long time--this cereal is my breakfast mainstay. Love it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 13, 2008
Reviewer: Betsy in North Carolina
---A bit hard and crunchy, but fine nonetheless. However, with the very low carb count, we mix this 50-50 with the Hi-Lo Cereals, especially the box of plain Hi-Lo Cereal. We use with a milk product, usually Hood's Calorie Countdown "milk" (fka "Carb Countdown"). ---Kudos for the TWO pouches of cereal in each box; -helps retain extra freshness. ---Here's an idea: I haven't tried this, but I'd recommend this for recipe experimentation, i.e. for a cookie, maybe partially crushed, mixed with an egg and softened cream (and maybe a bit of butter) cheese to a proper consistency for cookie dough. Could add any number of the following: cinnamon, freshly-grated ginger, pecans, or maybe even lightly-crushed blueberries... -Might also experiment for a pie crust, i.e. with Comstock sugar-free cherry or apple fillings. Signing off; I've got some experimentation to do!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 29, 2008
Reviewer: Kelly in West Virginia
Very Crunchy, but VERY Good. Worth the price to have cereal again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 03, 2007
Reviewer: A customer in Massachusetts
This cereal adds the "crunch" back to the low carb diet. Love the fiber content with the high protein per serving. We enjoy it as a breakfast food or mixed with low carb yogurt for a quick snack!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.95 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement